BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Benn
Calcite | Level 5

Hi Guys,

I am very new to SAS. Hope to get some advice for the following.

I currently have decades of data. And they have dates in the format of YYYYMMDD. On every date there are customers (eg. A, B, C, D, E).

What I am trying to do is to extract the observations for each customer (A,B,C,D,E) for the last 2 days of each month.

I am not sure how to get about doing this in an efficient manner.

Thanks guys!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Haikuo
Onyx | Level 15

If you only care about calendar date, here is an option:

data want;

set have;

if Your_date = intnx('month',Your_date,0,'end') or

Your_date=intnx('month',Your_date,0,'end')-1;

run;

Haikuo

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
Haikuo
Onyx | Level 15

If you only care about calendar date, here is an option:

data want;

set have;

if Your_date = intnx('month',Your_date,0,'end') or

Your_date=intnx('month',Your_date,0,'end')-1;

run;

Haikuo

RichardinOz
Quartz | Level 8

If it is a large dataset you might want to use a where statement with a single inequality condition for efficiency, as in:

data want ;

set have ;

where Your_date > intnx('month',Your_date,0,'end') - 2 ;

run ;

The where statement can also be coded as a (where= ()) dataset option

set have

(where = (Your_date > intnx('month',Your_date,0,'end') - 2))

;

MikeZdeb
Rhodochrosite | Level 12

hi ... not much difference in performance between IF and WHERE any more ...

"Performance in these examples is close enough that the choice of an IF statement versus a WHERE statement versus a WHERE option is arbitrary."

from ...

Efficiency Considerations Using the SAS System

Rick Langston, SAS Institute

http://www2.sas.com/proceedings/sugi30/002-30.pdf

RichardinOz
Quartz | Level 8

Point taken, Mike.

But Rick goes on to say