BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
EdD
Calcite | Level 5 EdD
Calcite | Level 5
Hi everyone. I am a beginning AF programmer although I do have a few years in base SAS. I am trying to use a LISTBOX to present choices for a user to select one by tabbing, clicking, or scrolling to. Since I am porting this to a mainframe, I must be able to capture the enter key being used to know when a selection is made. I have been playing with the EVENT() capture and can't seem to get that to work right. Does anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks, Ed
7 REPLIES 7
SASKiwi
PROC Star
It would be helpful if you could provide your SCL code so we can see what you are trying to do.
EdD
Calcite | Level 5 EdD
Calcite | Level 5
The SCL code is what I am trying to create. I have a listbox on a frame. I populated the listbox and can see movement when I use the mouse or cursor. I want to execute a specific group of SAS code based on the selection from the listbox. How can I know the user 'selected' one of the entries rather than scrolled down using the cursor control?
ballardw
Super User
I don't have references for AF currently but I would look at the methods associated with listboxes. I vaguely remember being able to do something like:

rc =get_selected(listboxidentifier);

But I think the RC was the list item identfier not the actual value displayed in the box.

It didn't matter if you used a mouse or key strokes to navigate the list.
tbellmer
Fluorite | Level 6
If your listbox is named lstbox then use this code in a labeled section:

lstbox:
value = lstbox.selecteditem ;
put value = ;
return ;
EdD
Calcite | Level 5 EdD
Calcite | Level 5
I have tried both methods and I can get the return code along with the value, however it does not matter if I use the tab or down arrow on the keyboard it appears as if the item was selected when in reality it was just scrolled past. I have tried to capture the enter key being pressed as an EVENT(), but that does not seem to work either.
tbellmer
Fluorite | Level 6