BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
TheNovice
Quartz | Level 8

Hello Friends,

Somewhat of a beginner here.... I have a task that requires me to consolidate datasets for the previous 12 months before I proceed with the ask.

Example: I have an October Dataset and I would need to compare it against the previous 12 months. I know how to manually specify each dataset and then consolidate but that is tedious and ugly.

Therefore, I would like to specify the month and year and then have the script pull the previous 12 months of the data.

The datasets are all named the same: List_R_G but they reside in folders for different months.

I have no clue where to start. Could someone please assist ? Hopefully, my question makes sense

Thank you!

8 REPLIES 8
Reeza
Super User
1. Make a list of the file paths where the file will be.
2. In a data step, there's an option on the INFILE statement, FILEVAR.

See Example 5 in the documentation.
https://documentation.sas.com/?docsetId=lestmtsref&docsetTarget=n1rill4udj0tfun1fvce3j401plo.htm&doc...
TheNovice
Quartz | Level 8

Thank you so much for the response Reeza. However, this is my concern. The code you directed me to asks me to specify the file location. Meaning, I would to change this every month.

Ideally, what I would like to do is:

Month = November

Year = 2018 

have the query written so it goes back 12 months a picks all the files... So, technically if I change the month and year, it should compute back 12 months.

Is that possible ? As I said, the pathname is the same. It is just different folders in the format YYYY-MM that houses the datasets. Dataset names are the same as well.

Kindly advise and thank you very much again.

Reeza
Super User
You use a data step to create a list of the file names using a loop and INTNX(). This is dynamic so you can use TODAY() to get the date today and then use string functions to make the file path. Functions are pretty much all you need here, INTNX(), TODAY(), MONTH(), YEAR(), CATT() or CATX().