BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
davila1
Calcite | Level 5

Hello all,

I am new to the SAS website and programming in general but am very thankful to have found this discussion forum.

I have a question:

What is Read-only as it pertains to the Sashelp library and how is read-only more limited with respect to the sasuser library?

any input is appreciated.

Gabe

9 REPLIES 9
art297
Opal | Level 21

I think that one to have to know more in order to accurately answer your questions.

Read only means what it says: that you can only read the files, not write to them or delete them.  It is usually, if not always, set at the system level and not in SAS.

It should have the same meaning for all such directories, but the settings for read, write and delete could differ for each.

davila1
Calcite | Level 5

ok.ok. This makes some sense.

The gentleman Tim gave an answer that speaks more clearly to me, but I now see that you are coming from the same place in that the SASHELP library is read only and therefore unalterable.

One question. What do you mean by system level?

Thank you and Best Regards,

Gabe

Tim_SAS
Barite | Level 11

"Read-only" means that you can't change anything in in the SASHELP library. You can, however, modify the SASUSER library by adding or deleting things in it or even deleting the library itself.

davila1
Calcite | Level 5

This answer really speaks to the novice an I now understand that the read-only SASHELP library is unalterable. I guess read only makes sense now. I have now taken some beginning tutorials and have learned how to rename libraries and, also, I have learned some of the basics ways to change variable parameters and descriptions is the SAS data tables.

I believe the SASUSER library is going to be the one for me! At least initially. That being said, I am curious as to what the benifits of the SASHELP library are. Any thoughts?

Thank you Tim.

art297
Opal | Level 21