BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
vomer
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi Guys,

I was recently sent an SQL query and asked to run it in SAS. I am unsure on how to do this?

I know there is a proc SQL command but I have never used it before...

Is there any automated conversion?

Thanks.

8 REPLIES 8
art297
Opal | Level 21

It would help if you post the query you were sent.

vomer
Obsidian | Level 7

It is a really long query but here is a snippet:

select p.last_name "Last Name",

p.given_name "First Name",

p.identifier1 "Card",

r.id "RID",

TO_CHAR(r.referral_date, 'yyyy/mm/dd hh:mi:ss') "R Date",

ROUND(pt.unstable_interval / 86400000,1) "D Interval",

t1.name "Choice 1",

t2.name "Choice 2",

t3.name "Choice 3",

art297
Opal | Level 21

Depending upon how the rest of the query is written, it may run in SAS by just wrapping it within a proc sql statement.  e.g.;

proc sql;

your_entire_querry_ending_with_a_semi_colon

quit;

SAS doesn't have a to_char function but, if the querry is designed as a passthru to Oracle, it will work anyhow.

Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

Basically you wrap your query with PROC SQL and QUIT statements.

If you want to save the results you probably also need to add a CREATE TABLE xxxx or CREATE VIEW xxxx clause before the SELECT statement.  If you want to make a report then your probably do not want to use SQL code at all and instead want to look at PROC PRINT or PROC REPORT as you will be able to have much more control over the report.

If you want to run it totally in SAS then you will also need to convert the Oracle syntax to SAS syntax.

• TO_CHAR is an Oracle function to convert a date to character string. In SAS you would use the PUT() function.
  • Your column names have spaces in them.  You could set VALIDVARNAME=ANY and then convert the quote columns to SAS name litterals.  So "R Date" would be converted to "R Date"n.