BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Shayan2012
Quartz | Level 8

Hi All,

So, I have a kind of weired question that made me question my knowledge on SQL joins.

I have a dataset lets say HAVE, which I perform a left join on with another dataset, DATA like this:

proc sql;
create table WANT as
select h.*, d.x 

from have as h left join data as d

on h.id = d.id

quit;

I would have supposed that all of HAVE observations will be there in my WANT dataset. However, after the merge, I noticed that a few are missing. (the freq was 37 out of 20000 were missing.)

I redid the above code with a full join; still did not found them.

Then I just chose those disappearing ovservations, and tried to left join with the DATA, and I got zero.

Is this like left join not working perfectly? What can be causig this problem?

I really appreciate your helps since I am not that experienced in sql;

thanks;

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Shayan2012
Quartz | Level 8

UPDATE: Ok, I think I got it. Apparently the problem was coming from the fact that I was working with the options obs = 20000. at the beginning of my code. Apparently, the result will not be in a sorted way, so when truncating to 20000 options I will not see the other observations which incudes the specific observation I am looking for.

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
Reeza
Super User

You don't have a WHERE on your query? 

Shayan2012
Quartz | Level 8
not really. Just the basic above code.
ballardw
Super User

Run proc freq on each data set for the variable ID. Look for different counts.

If you get different counts for levles of ID then you have a place to look for other data issues.

SASKiwi
PROC Star

Is your ID variable numeric by any chance? One possible explanation for missing rows is precision problems with numeric keys, which can only handle a maximum of about 16 digits accurately.

Shayan2012