BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
lghansse
Calcite | Level 5

Hey,

I'm fairly new to working with SAS and I'm struggeling with the following problem:

I'm trying to import a file (originally SPSS-format) into SAS. I've already tried saving it as a excel-file (extension.xls), a SAS-database file (extension sas.7bdat) or a comma delimited file (extension .csv). SAS does import the file but states that the dataset contains only 1 observation and 0 variables. However, when I look at my data with the proc print-command there are over 50000 oberservations. I do see that all my variabels are stated in one collumn and their values are separated with ';'. This problem occurs with each of the data-formats and I have no idea on what the solution could be.

To be clear this is the syntax I use:

proc import OUT=WORK.filename

datafile="file_location_and_name.csv"

dbms=csv

replace;

getnames=yes;

run;

Thanks,

Lise

8 REPLIES 8
Mit
Calcite | Level 5 Mit
Calcite | Level 5

csv file da.ta path is required

lghansse
Calcite | Level 5

Could you explain this?

If you mean that I should add a 'delimiter'-statement, I already tried that and it didn't make any difference.

Mit
Calcite | Level 5 Mit
Calcite | Level 5

You should mention the path of this file ie. where this file is located. suppose your file is located at "C:\My Documents"

dbms is your delimiter type.

proc import

datafile="C:\My Documents\file_location_and_name.csv"

OUT=WORK.filename

dbms=csv

replace;

getnames=yes;

run;

lghansse
Calcite | Level 5

I did that. It's just not specified id syntax I typed above (I just put file_location_and_name) but I did it correctly in SAS.

Mit
Calcite | Level 5 Mit
Calcite | Level 5

Suppose your file name is mydata then the following code should work.

Please ref to

Base SAS(R) 9.2 Procedures Guide

proc import

datafile="C:\My Documents\mydata.csv"

OUT=WORK.filename

dbms=csv

replace;

getnames=yes;

run;

lghansse
Calcite | Level 5