BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
reisaw
Calcite | Level 5

Hi,

I have a question regarding to the variable transformation by using Box-Cox. 

I'm a student taking Regression Analysis class, and here is the code for the example: 

data plasma;
input age plevel;
datalines;
    0  13.44  
    0  12.84  
    0  11.91  
    0  20.09  
    0  15.60  
  1.0  10.11  
  1.0  11.38  
  1.0  10.28  
  1.0   8.96  
  1.0   8.59  
  2.0   9.83  
  2.0   9.00  
  2.0   8.65  
  2.0   7.85  
  2.0   8.88  
  3.0   7.94  
  3.0   6.01  
  3.0   5.14  
  3.0   6.90  
  3.0   6.77  
  4.0   4.86  
  4.0   5.10  
  4.0   5.67  
  4.0   5.75  
  4.0   6.23  
  ;
run;

proc reg data=plasma;
model plevel=age;
run;

ods output boxcox=bc details=details;
proc transreg data=plasma PBOXCOXTABLE detail;
      model boxcox(plevel/ lambda=  -1.2 to 1.2 by 0.1 convenient)
          = identity(age);
      output out = bc_plasma;
run;

proc print data=bc_plasma;
run;

proc reg data=bc_plasma;
model tplevel=age;
run;

so the best lambda for the transformation is -0.50. I have verified and get the same lambda by manually calculating the BoxCox formula in R. 

However, I am wondering where is the new variable Y transformation is actually calculated from? 

From my textbook, after getting lambda=-0.50. Then the Y-transformation is going to be Y^(-0.50) 

So, saying the first observation Y=13.44, the Y-transformation by using lambda=-0.5 is   0.2727

But in output is 2.59823, and is not from (Y^(-0.50) -1)/(-0.5).

I am hesitate on whether directly use this output variable as the Y transformation to fit the regression line because I don't know how it is calculated.

Can anyone explain ?

Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
WarrenKuhfeld
Rhodochrosite | Level 12