BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
lady8506
Quartz | Level 8

I am fairly new to using PROC TRANSPOSE and DO loops and am having some problems getting them to do exactly what I want them to do. Neither feature is working quite the way I need it to. 

I have a dataset that contains repeat measures (many variables are repeated(i.e. SurgProcedure1 SurgProcedure2 SurgProcedure3), and sometimes observations, too, like repeat patients who are in the data set more than once due to two different cancers). This dataset is in wide format and I'd like to transpose it into long format.

When I use PROC TRANSPOSE such as:

PROC TRANSPOSE DATA = have OUT = want; 

BY Fname Lname;

VAR SurgProcedure1 SurgProcedure2 SurgProcedure3;

RUN;

PROC TRANSPOSE deletes every single non-transposed variable in the dataset. That's not what I want. I want it to keep all my other variables and just transpose the ones I request to be transposed.

So, I switched to trying a Do loop.

DATA want; SET have;

array Side[3] Side1-Side3;
DO I=1 to 3;
Sides=Side(i);
output;
end;
RUN;

But the DO loop will create duplicate observations of ALL patients regardless of whether or not they actually had more than one side of their body presenting symptoms (Side1 may contain a value, but Side2 is empty, yet the patient still gets duplicated). That's not what I want, either. I don't want it to duplicate a patient if an observation for a variable is missing.  

If anyone could help me fix my problem, I'd appreciate it. Thanks! 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ballardw
Super User

Almost there on the do loop:

DATA want; 
   SET have;
   DO I=1 to 3;
      Sides=Side(i);
      if not missing(sides) then output;
   end;
RUN;

Proc transpose has the COPY statement to bring in the values of other variables but may not always do what you want depending on your actual data have and want.