BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
archimboldi
Calcite | Level 5

Hi, I'm new to SAS programming, and I'm having some trouble figuring out how to run PROC MEANS on multiple variables while limiting a WHERE statement to only one variable. 

Here's the context: My sample has 80 observations. I have two variables that I would like to run PROC MEANS on. 'Sleep' is the number of hours slept per day, and 'Age' is age in years. 'Sleep' has two outliers due to data entry errors (0 and 100), and the variable 'Sleep2' is dichotomous and excludes the two outliers (that is, if 'Sleep'<1 or 'Sleep'>12, then 'Sleep2'=.). 'Age' has no outliers that need to be excluded. 

The following code runs: 

proc means;

var sleep age;

where sleep2^=.;

run;

However, this WHERE statement takes out the two observations for the entire procedure (it affects PROC MEANS on 'sleep' and 'age'). I only want to restrict this to the variable 'sleep' (PROC MEANS for 'sleep' has the 78 observations without the outliers, whereas PROC MEANS for 'age' has all 80 observations). I tried out something like this:

proc means;

var sleep (where=(sleep2^=.)) age;

run;

This did not work. I know I can do this in two separate procedures (one procedure for 'sleep', another procedure for 'age'), but I would prefer to do this at once. Any advice or help?

Thanks!

9 REPLIES 9
Reeza
Super User

Missing values aren't included in proc means calculations by default. 

A where statment applies to the whole dataset. You can't have it selectively apply to some variables and not orhers. 

archimboldi
Calcite | Level 5

Thanks for your input. Since a WHERE statement can't do it, is there any way to do one PROC MEANS procedure for multiple variables while restricting one variable (ex: 'sleep' if 'sleep'>0) but not for another?

Not SAS code exactly, but imagine something like this:

proc means;

var sleep (if sleep>0) age;

run;

Reeza
Super User

No, you can't do what you're trying to do. 

You need to run multiple proc means.