BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
SebastianA
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi All,

I am new to SAS. I am trying to extract data from SQL Server and load into Teradata.

My source table has few columns which are converted to 'yyyy-mm-dd' format and loaded to Teradata in the PROC sql.

when I am trying to append the dataset to Teradata, it gives me a warning:

WARNING: Variable OPPORTUNITY_TCV not appended because of type mismatch.

From source I am extracting it as below:

FORMAT(CAST([Status Change Date] AS DATETIME),'yyyy-MM-dd') AS [STATUS_CHANGE_DATE],

In the destination DB (Teradata) the column is defined as:

STATUS_CHANGE_DATE DATE FORMAT 'YYYY-MM-DD' DEFAULT DATE '2000-01-01',

while executing the SAS program I am getting the below warning.

WARNING: Variable STATUS_CHANGE_DATE not appended because of type mismatch.

Please suggest how I can resolve the warning.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
SASKiwi
PROC Star

Looks like CASTing the date has converted it to character in the SAS load table. It needs to be a proper SAS date or datetime to load correctly. I suggest you remove the CAST, rerun the download then check the variable type with PROC CONTENTS.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
SASKiwi
PROC Star

How is STATUS_CHANGE_DATE defined in SAS? Run PROC CONTENTS on your SAS load table and post the output.

SebastianA
Fluorite | Level 6

Please find the PROC CONTENTS output:

VariableTypeLenFormatInformatLabel
STATUS_CHANGE_DATEChar4000$4,000.00$4,000.00STATUS_CHANGE_DATE
SASKiwi
PROC Star

Looks like CASTing the date has converted it to character in the SAS load table. It needs to be a proper SAS date or datetime to load correctly. I suggest you remove the CAST, rerun the download then check the variable type with PROC CONTENTS.

SebastianA
Fluorite | Level 6