BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
elladunn
Calcite | Level 5

Hi people of the SAS procedures community.

I am a v new student to SAS and feel caught in the  headlights while having my toenails pulled! I believe it gets better........

Anyway after a few hours I need help, pls excuse if this is such a painfully basic question;

Have date of birth(dob) and date of acceptance(doa) into a program.  Some of the patients were born before 1960 so I am getting negative values when I calculate their age at date of acceptance.   Would be eternally grateful for any guidance.

Using
input dob mmddyy9. doa mmddyy9.
agea=yrdif(dob,doa,'AGE');

Yours in eternal indebtedness

Ella

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Scott_Mitchell
Quartz | Level 8

The following article explains the issue quite nicely.

SAS(R) 9.2 Language Reference: Dictionary, Fourth Edition

Let me know if you have any further questions.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
Scott_Mitchell
Quartz | Level 8

Hi Ella,

Welcome to the wonderful world of SAS.

I have created the following to replicate what you are seeing.

DATA HAVE;

FORMAT DOA DOB DATE9.;

INPUT DOA:DATE9. DOB:DATE9.;

DATALINES;

01JAN1994 01JAN1959

01JAN1994 01JAN1960

01JAN1994 01JAN1961

;

RUN;

DATA WANT;

SET HAVE;

AGEA=YRDIF(DOB,DOA,'AGE');

RUN;

The results this achieves are what you would expect I suspect.  Is there a chance that the DOA is larger than the DOB in the circumstances where you have witnessed negative resutls?

If you post an example of the data you are accessing it will assist us in helping you.

Regards,

Scott

elladunn
Calcite | Level 5

Hi Scott