BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
anissak1
Obsidian | Level 7

I am relatively new to SAS.  I have transposed from long to broad with indicator variables, but I can't figure out how to transpose with only two columns of data.  Seems embarrassingly easy, but nothing seems to work.  Any advice?  Many thanks. I have two observations for each subject that are not identified by anything other than the value of the variable.  Would like a dateset with each of the two values for each subject in a separate column.  Thank you!! Anissa

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ed_sas_member
Meteorite | Level 14

Hi @anissak1 

Does this code correspond to your need?

NB: you can avoid the PROC SORT step if the dataset is already sorted by USUBJID.

All the best,

proc sort data=have out=have_sorted;
	by usubjid;
run;

proc transpose data=have_sorted out=want (drop=_:) prefix=ftstresn;
	var ftstresn;
	by usubjid;
run;

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
ghosh
Barite | Level 11

what have you tried?

Care to provide the data in text rather than as an image? 

anissak1
Obsidian | Level 7

Thanks for the reply.  I got the solution!  I think I must have just been making a stupid error with my code and perhaps it was not sorted correctly prior to the transpose procedure.

Kurt_Bremser
Super User

Please post example data in a data step with datalines, and show the code you tried; use the "little running man" for posting code. In case of ERRORs or WARNINGs or any unexpected outcome, post the log with the {i} button.

anissak1
Obsidian | Level 7