BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
deleted_user
Not applicable
I am fairly new to the advanced uses of proc format, but I have run into a situation that I can't resolve.

To set the stage; I am working with a fairly large dataset (2 million plus obs and 45 variables). Over half of the variables are long character strings. In an attempt to reduce the file size, I have created numeric codes for each character string. This is where I utilized proc format's cntlin feature.

I approached this by isolating each character variable and after removing duplicates I created a dataset that contained the required cntlin features (start, label, and fmtname) for a numeric informat and then ran the proc format. I repeated this procedure to create a corresponding numeric format. My thought being that I could convert the character variable to a numeric code with an input function and then apply the format for ease of data reading and reporting, while simultaneously reducing the memory requirements.

In the end this approach worked, kind of. As I investigated the final dataset I now have numeric variables and my file size is significantly smaller. I printed a few observations and everything looks good there as well. The problem comes when I open the dataset in a viewtable. A few of the formated variables (6 of 27) do not display the formats. They show up as the numeric codes. Viewing the properties of these variables generates errors in the log stating that either the format, informat, or both are incorrect.

All of the formats, informats, and conversions were coded in macros, so the inconsistent results are really puzzeling me.

I have tried adding additional information to the cntlin dataset (length, max length, "other" values) all to no avail. Anybody have any sugggestions??
9 REPLIES 9
Cynthia_sas
SAS Super FREQ
Hi: