BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
berylsky1
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello all,

I am a newbie to SAS and trying to recode a categorical variable in different ways; however, none of them worked. 

I still have not figured out how to fix this problem. 

What I want to do is to create a new variable (4 categories) based on an old variable's responses (8 categories).

I tried several ways, but none of them worked. I attached my codes below.

1. I used the format and added $ before the variable name because B5 ends with the number. ( I am not sure if I understand this correctly)

proc format;
value $B5
'increased a lot'='increased'
'increased somewhat'='increased'
'increased a litte'='increased'
'stayed the same'='stayed the same'
'decreased a litte'='decreased'
'decreased somewhat'='decreased'
'decreased a lot'='decreased'
'N/A'='N/A'
;
run;

I got an error message:  

berylsky1_1-1612223369508.png

2. I used the if/then statement here. 

Data risk3; /**create a new dataset**/
Set risk2;
If B5 in ('stayed the same') then B5_R='stayed the same';
If B5 in ('increased a lot' 'increased somewhat' 'increased a little') then B5_R='increased';
If B5 in ('decreased a little' 'decreased somewhat' 'decreased a lot') then B5_R='decreased';
If B5 in ('N/A') then B5_R='N/A';
If B5=. then B5_R=.;
run;

When running this code, I got the long notes: 

berylsky1_0-1612223330210.png

I googled how to recode a categorical variable for a few hours and got stuck on this problem.
Please share your suggestions to solve this problem. 

Thank you for your help. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ballardw
Super User

First you cannot Name a format ending in digits. If you remember things like other formats such as F the digits are the display width. So the same applies to custom formats. You could try naming your format B5_ if you really like the 5 as part of the name.