BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
ncsthbell
Quartz | Level 8

I am attempting to compute a new date variable to format the original date variable into a different format. The value of the 'orig_update_dt' column is 25JUL2000:00:00:00.

I get the correct results for both columns 'orig_update_dt' & 'new_update_dt' as long as I use 'display' on the DEFINE statement. The results are:

'orig_update_dt' = 25JUL2000:00:00:00

'new_update_dt' =  07/25/2000

However, if I change the DEFINE statement on 'orig_update_dt' and use 'noprint' instead of 'display', the computed variable 'new_update_dt' does not compute.  The value of 'new_update_dt is 01/01/1960 when the 'display' is changed to 'noprint'.  I know this is the SAS base date so I guess it means it is not computing the new variable for some reason.  I am pretty new to this so am I missing something?

my code:

COLUMN orig_update_dt new_update_dt

DEFINE   orig_update_dt  / display ;

DEFINE   new_update_dt / display computed format=mmddyys10.;                                                                                                   <= if

COMPUTE  new_update_dt;

new_update_dt=(datepart(orig_update_dt));

ENDCOMP;

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Cynthia_sas
SAS Super FREQ

Hi:

Thanks for referencing the course notes! It's a good course for understanding how to use both TABULATE and REPORT. If you look elsewhere in Chapter 4 I think that your issues can be clarified.