BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
mraza12
Calcite | Level 5

Hi all,

I am new to SAS and I am trying to work on macros. I want to know if I can create a single excel file with multiple tabs using tables created by a macro which is calle dn number of times. 

/*start of macro */

%macro exampeMacro(vendor, environment)

proc sql;

create table work.&vendor._&environment_enrl

(

select distinct abc,

def,

ghi

from database.tableName

where xyz = something

);

quit;

proc export data = work.&vendor._&environment_enrl

outfile = "location/nameOfFile.txt

replace label dbms= dlm ; delimiter= '|';
run;

%mend exampeMacro;

/* end of macro */

%exampeMacro(vendor1, prod);

%exampeMacro(vendor1, test);

%exampeMacro(vendor2, prod);

%exampeMacro(vendor2, test);

This is just an example simple code I wrote just now in 2 minutes. Now I know if I have the file creration within the macro, it will create 4 different files. I want only 2 files, one for each vendor with 2 tabs, one for prod and one for test. 

Macro is called multiple times and it creates multiple tables but I want to output only 1 file for each vendor. Please help me and let me know if this is possible.

Many Thanks,

mraza12.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
brzcol
SAS Employee

Hello,

Here is my suggestion (hopefully this is what you would want to happen). I have the sashelp.cars dataset and I want to have an excel file with tabs for each make that I choose:

%macro example(vendor,Make);

libname test xlsx 'C:\placetoputfile\CommEx.xlsx';
	proc sql;
		create table test.&vendor._&Make as
		select Make, Model,MSRP
		from sashelp.cars
		where Make="&Make";
	quit;

%mend example;

%example(ABC,Acura)
%example(ABC,Honda)

libname test clear;