BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
christinagting0
Quartz | Level 8

Hi everyone, 

I am new to SAS and just learning from scratch.

I need help understanding how to collapse my data. I have a data set with a number of observations with a unique ID number. However, these observations may be entered more than once in the dataset becuase they have a variable of interest. So for example, observation #1234 might be listed 5 times in the data set because they have the colour blue, short hair, height x, black hair and eat meat. What I want to do is collapse my data so that I only have one observation for #1234 but be able to see all the variables that they have in one line instead of 5 separate entries. 

How can I do this?

thanks!

4 REPLIES 4
Astounding
PROC Star

Note that once you do this, you may lose some data.  It would be possible, for example, that HAIR would be different on different original observations.  But you will end up with only one value after the collapse.

That being said, here's a way to approach this.  Assuming you have a variable named ID:

proc sort data=have;

by id;

run;

data want;

update have (obs=0) have;

by id;

run;

The output data set should be just what you are looking for.

Good luck.

christinagting0
Quartz | Level 8

Hi Astounding, 

thanks for your reply. Do you think you could explain your code a bit further so I can understand what is happening?

I understand the proc sort, but I"m a little confused as to what the obs=0 line is saying. When I googled it it says that obs=0 creates an empty data set that has the structure, but not the attributes, of another data set.

i'm a little confused how your code collapses data?

thank you!!!

Astounding
PROC Star