BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
soconnell152
Calcite | Level 5

Hello all-

I am quite new to SAS (I actually learned the basics some years ago but have since not needed to use the software) and am having trouble running a program that was provided by another researcher to input and clean their dataset (both the programs and data are publicly available). I have tried to adapt the initial commands to direct to where I have put the datasets, but when I run the program I end up with a dataset which has all the variable names but is empty!! Below is the initial part of the code. My procees has been:

1) download the file dist91.data.gz from the source

2) place this file in C:\temp\ directory

3) Change the "libname "statement below to read : libname sasdata 'C:\temp';

4) hit "run"

5) end up with an empty dataset.

6) I have also tried the same as above and also unzipping the .gz file into its raw .dat format, and changing the filename statement to read: filename indata91  'dist91.dat';

7) same thing happens.

As far as I know, this code was written in 2003 and possibly not changed or debugged for newer releases of SAS? I am currently running SAS 9.1 on a Windows 7 based PC. I am probably missing some important syntax, or the code was written for UNIX?

The data and programs are downloadable here: http://www.bsos.umd.edu/socy/vanneman/districts/files/index.html

I am in need to processing the 1991 data to support an academic research grant application, and can't even get this first piece done. Any thoughts or help most appreciated!

_______________________________________Begin SAS code:

/* Users will need to create their own libname and filename commands

as appropriate for their local computer system

*/

libname  sasdata '.';

filename indata91  pipe 'gunzip -c dist91.data.gz';

data sasdata.dist91 (label='Indian 1991 districts: from dist91.dat');