BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
DocStocks
Calcite | Level 5

Hi. I'm fairly new to SAS, so any help or sample programs would be most appreciated. My data currently is organized as follows:

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1097617/SAS%20Help/Capture.PNGcontinues.....

Every two columns goes together. The first column is the date (duh). The first ob of the second column is the identifier. The remaining obs under the indentifier are the variables specific to that date and that identifier. I need the data to look like this:

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1097617/SAS%20Help/Capture2.PNG

Note each ID, does NOT have the same number of date/var combinations. I know how to do this in Excel, but even with a macro it would take me entirely too long. I'm sure a short SAS program could knock this out. Again, any help is most appreciated.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
art297
Opal | Level 21

No guarantee, but I think that the following does what you want.  I added an extra column, namely recnum, so that you can distinguish where each record ends and the next one starts:

filename in 'c:\art\cvx_1.csv';                                                                                                  

data want;

array names (5000) $20 _temporary_ ;

length garbage name $20 var1 var2 $20 ;

format recnum best12.;

format id $20.;

format date mmddyy10.;

format var best12.;

infile in dsd lrecl=60000 truncover ;

if _n_=1 then do ;

do ncols=1 by 1 until (name='');

input garbage name @ ;

if name ne '' then names(ncols)=name;

end;

input;

ncols=ncols-1;

end;

else do;

recnum+1;

do i=1 to ncols;

input var1 var2 @ ;

date=input(var1, ?? mmddyy10.);

var=input(var2, ?? best12.);

id=names(i);

output ;

end;

end;

input;

keep recnum id date var;

retain ncols names;

run;

View solution in original post

16 REPLIES 16
scmebu
SAS Employee