BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
danielhu
Calcite | Level 5

Hi, I am a student and learning how to use SAS by replicating the result from a published paper. I faced a long list of "ERROR: Asterisks are an indication of a format width problem". As you can see from the screenshot, there are some that are calculated corrected, but most of the variables are indicated with asterisks. What I am trying to do is to do a sum up for each variable (28 in total) by year. I am not sure whether it is due to some of the variables have format as numeric 1. while some are in numeric best12. But this is not the case when I check those that managed to sum up, they are a mixture of both numeric formats.

The following is my codes with the variables in red.

proc sort data=sas.governancedropt1;

by year;

run;

proc means data=sas.governancedropt1 noprint;

var BLANKCHECK CBOARD LSPMT LWCNST COMPPLAN DIRIND DIRLIAB GOLDENPARACHUTE SEVERANCE CUMVOTE

CUMVOTESS LABYLW LACHTR SECRETBALLOT SUPERMAJOR UNEQVOTE ANTIGREEN DUTIESNF FAIRPRICE PPARACHUTE

PPILL SPARACHUTE SL_BUSCOMP SL_CASHOUT SL_CSA SL_DUTIES SL_FAIRPRICE SL_RPROFITS;

output out=governancedropt1_byyear (drop=_type_ _freq_)

sum(BLANKCHECK CBOARD LSPMT LWCNST COMPPLAN DIRIND DIRLIAB GOLDENPARACHUTE SEVERANCE CUMVOTE

CUMVOTESS LABYLW LACHTR SECRETBALLOT SUPERMAJOR UNEQVOTE ANTIGREEN DUTIESNF FAIRPRICE PPARACHUTE

PPILL SPARACHUTE SL_BUSCOMP SL_CASHOUT SL_CSA SL_DUTIES SL_FAIRPRICE SL_RPROFITS)

= BLANKCHECK1 CBOARD1 LSPMT1 LWCNST1 COMPPLAN1 DIRIND1 DIRLIAB1 GOLDENPARACHUTE1 SEVERANCE1 CUMVOTE1

CUMVOTESS1 LABYLW1 LACHTR1 SECRETBALLOT1 SUPERMAJOR1 UNEQVOTE1 ANTIGREEN1 DUTIESNF1 FAIRPRICE1 PPARACHUTE1

PPILL1 SPARACHUTE1 SL_BUSCOMP1 SL_CASHOUT1 SL_CSA1 SL_DUTIES1 SL_FAIRPRICE1 SL_RPROFITS1;

by year;

run;

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
jwillis
Quartz | Level 8

Perhaps this will work:

proc means.......

format