BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
nitesh_k
Calcite | Level 5

Im trying to get the SAS SQL equivalent for the below MYSQL query

MySQL Query:

===========

SELECT MIN(temp.total_cost), MAX(temp.total_cost) FROM ( SELECT WXP49.total_cost FROM product WXP49 ORDER BY WXP49.total_cost DESC LIMIT 1, 5) AS temp;

Idea is to get the min and max value of total cost from row number 1 to 5 but before that need to order by total cost column .

I am new to SAS. I tried below query,

PROC SQL Query:

==============

SELECT MIN(WXP49.total_cost), MAX(WXP49.total_cost) FROM WORK.product WXP49 WHERE MONOTONIC() BETWEEN 1 AND 5 ORDER BY WXP49.total_cost ASC

This query seems to be misbehaving and giving me five results back with same min and max value.

Is this is the correct way of getting what I was intending? Is there any other way?

Please help and let me know the equivalent SAS SQL for the above MySQL query.

21 REPLIES 21
Newbee_MVK
Calcite | Level 5

data want;

input number;

cards;

;

run;

proc sql;

select min(number) as minnum, max(number) as maxnum from want(firstobs=1 obs=5);

run;

hope this might give you some idea.

Ksharp
Super User

Or Maybe like:

SELECT MIN(temp.total_cost), MAX(temp.total_cost)

FROM ( SELECT total_cost

FROM product (obs=5)

ORDER BY total_cost DESC ) AS temp;

nitesh_k
Calcite | Level 5

Yeah Ksharp thanks for the reply. you got the requirement, but order by doesn't seems to work in the inner query atleast on sas sharenet server 9.2.

I got the below error:

>[Error] Script lines: 1-4 --------------------------

Sharenet.S206.ex.txt: Sharenet.S252.ex.txt: -2013077488 ERROR: SQL passthru expression contained these errors: ERROR 79-322: Expecting a )....  ERROR 22-322: Syntax error, expecting one of the following: ;, ','....  ERROR 200-322: The symbol is not recognized and will be ignored. -2147295222.. 

When I remove the order by clause, it does works. But i need to first apply the order by and then limit as mentioned in that mysql query.