BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
deleted_user
Not applicable
Hey guys!

After struggling and googling this for well over a day now, I decided to give up and ask for help.

I'm a beginner SAS EG user who is trying to use the software to analyze data for my thesis (and no, my thesis is not about SAS EG 😄 ).

Among other things, the data has lot of coordinates for a lot of people (over 100k rows). So I have an x column for each person and an y column. Now I'm trying to find a way to count the number of clients that share the exact same x and y coordinates. Also a print out of all the client_id's that share the same location would help a lot.

Although there are a lot of clients, there shouldn't be too many that share the same coordinates. Enough though to give me a headache.

Any help would be extremely appreciated!
4 REPLIES 4
Cynthia_sas
SAS Super FREQ
Hi:
At first, for investigative purposes, this seems to be a simple counting problem that you could do with any number of procedures. I chose PROC TABULATE because it creates an automatic _TYPE_ variable in the output dataset that can be used to determine which of the CLASS variables contributed to the count. (look at the first PROC PRINT output -- it should become clearer what/how _TYPE_ can be used.)

If you look at the program below, there are 26 observations, each with a PERSON, XVAL and YVAL variables. Some folks have XVAL the same; some folks have YVAL the same and some folks have both values the same.

The PROC TABULATE step creates one output dataset with the counts for ALL XVALS, ALL YVALS and the combinations of XVAL and YVAL. The different PROC PRINTS show you ALL the obs in the output dataset versus just the XVALs GT 1, just the YVALs GT 1 and both the same GT 1.

cynthia

[pre]
data coord;
infile datalines;
input person $ xval yval;
return;
datalines;
alan 1 2
barb 1 3
carl 1 4
dave 2 5
edna 2 5
frank 2 6
georgia 2 6
harry 2 7
ida 3 2
jack 3 3
kathy 3 3
lewis 3 4
mary 3 5
norm 3 5
ophelia 4 3
peter 4 4