BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
EMKBB
Calcite | Level 5
Hello,

I am new to SAS, and I am looking for material that will enable me to code and do the following:

I am trying to select the observations in a data set that meet the following criteria:

Variables: SA, AD, RS, SP (there are other variables but these are what is needed
to do the selection).

When SA(i) equals SA(j) and AD(i) is not equal to AD(j)
Select Observation i if AD(i) is greater than AD(j)
Select Observation j if AD(i) is less than AD(j),

When SA(i) equals SA(j) and AD(i) equals AD(j)
Select Observation i if RS(i) is greater than RS(j)
Select Observation j if RS(i) is less than RS(j),

Ignore Observation i if SP(i) equal to Yd or Tl or Ng.

Thank you.
13 REPLIES 13
Paige
Quartz | Level 8
> I am trying to select the observations in a data set
> that meet the following criteria:
>
> Variables: SA, AD, RS, SP (there are other variables
> but these are what is needed
> to do the selection).
>
>
> When SA(i) equals SA(j) and AD(i) is not equal
> to AD(j)

Not sure what this means ... normally, you don't select an observation based upon the value of the same variable in another observation. Do you mean select observation (i) when the value of SA equals the value of SA in some other observation (j), along with AD conditions?

If you really want to select an observation based upon a general condition where SA equals the value of SA in some other observation (plus AD conditions), where the other observation could be anywhere in the data set, I think you'd need PROC IML.

Am I understanding you properly? Message was edited by: Paige
EMKBB
Calcite | Level 5
Thanks Paige,

What I mean is that if two observations have the same SA value, then select the one with the higher AD value. If it turns out that their AD values are also the same, then select the one with the higher RS value.

Any observation whose SP value is equal to Yd or Tl or Ng should not be selected.