BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
gsnidow
Obsidian | Level 7

Greetings.  I'm an absolute SAS newbie, so I'll do the best I can with describing my problem.  I need to be able to take a variable, say 'x' and re-set it's value to it's existing value concatenated with a substring of another variable, for each iteration of the loop.  So, lets say I have a variable named var with value '4D0000001204E6', and I have 'x' whose initial value is '' or null.  I need to have a loop iterate for i = 1 to length(var)-1 by 2, and set x = x + substr(var,i,2).  So, for this example, my first iteration would set x = '4D', since i = 1.  The next iteration would need to set x = '4D' + '00', since i now = 3.  Next iteration would set x = '4D00' + '00' for i = 5, etc until I have rebuilt the initial string (var).  Now, I realize this may seem a waste since I already know the value of var, but this is just a small piece.  I will be using the substrings to match an EBCDIC_ASCII lookup table, and will actually be returning the EBCDIC value where the ASCII value = substr(var,1,2).  That is a whole other issue.  For now I just would like to re-create var.  So far, this is what I have tried, to no avail...

%Let var = '4D0000001204E6';

data test;

x = '';

do i = 1 to length(&var.)-1;

x = x||trim(substr(&var.,i,2));

end;

run;

Thank you all for any help you might be willing to give to a newbie.

Greg

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Linlin
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10

How about:

%Let var=4D0000001204E6;

data test;

length x $ 20;

retain x;

do _n_=1 to length("&var.") by 2;

y=substr("&var.",_n_,2);

x=cats(x,y);

output;

end;

proc print;run;

Obs    x                 y

1     4D                4D

2     4D00              00

3     4D0000            00

4     4D000000          00

5     4D00000012        12

6     4D0000001204      04

7     4D0000001204E6    E6