BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
mahler_ji
Obsidian | Level 7

Hey Guys,

I have a question about comparing datasets and discering whether or not they are "different"

I have two different metrics by which I categorize firms into buckets.  I have results over time for both metrics.  How can I compare them to each other and see how related they are?

I am looking for better metrics to compare them other than their average performance, correlation and volatility.

What procedures could I use to obtain this information?  I have some experience with proc reg, but is that the right one here?

Thanks,

John

7 REPLIES 7
mahler_ji
Obsidian | Level 7

I am digging way back into my statistics classes, but isn't there a way to figure out whether two datasets come from the same larger dataset?  Can't I use that idea here, where I can compare the two results and if they are sufficiently similar then the test would return that they are from the same dataset?

I think that was called a t-stat and a p-value?

SASKiwi
PROC Star

Have you looked at PROC COMPARE? This enables you to compare every every row (by row number or key variable(s)) and value to see if they are identical.

If it is more the case of comparing distributions of numeric variables then I suggest you look at PROC UNIVARIATE.

mahler_ji
Obsidian | Level 7

Yes, it is more comparing distributions or, more specifically, comparing values over time.  Do the values rise together and fall together at the same times.  Do the values follow the same pattern.

I hope that helps!

John

Reeza
Super User

It depends on what the values are, more info would help.

The first thing to do would be to plot them and visually compare, scatterplot and if time is a factor as you've indicated in your most recent post, then by time.

You can do a t-test, if you can assume a normal distribution or if your data is large enough. There are also non-parametric tests you can use, via proc npar1way.