BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
fredkho
Calcite | Level 5

Hello,

I am new to SAS.

I have a file price_sas located in a library called F which contains multiple columns.

I have columns named A, B, C, D, E which contain prices of items as information.

For columns A, I would like to find how many items cost between 0 and 1 dollar, how many items cost between 1 and 4 dollars, how many items cost between 4 and 8 and above 8.

I would like to repeat this procedure for the other columns using different bounds.

I am having trouble making it work and spent hours on it already, being new to SAS I would greatly appreciate your help and support.

Thanks

Fred

5 REPLIES 5
Haikuo
Onyx | Level 15

Of course you can do it using data step, while Proc SQL will be more straighforward IMHO:

/*take variable A as example: NOT tested*/

proc sql;

select sum(0<A<=1) as A01, sum(1<A<=4) as A14, sum(4<A<=8) as A48, sum(A>8) as A8

from F.price_sas

;

quit;

HTH,

Haikuo

Cynthia_sas
SAS Super FREQ

Hi:

Since you did not show your code, it's hard to comment on what else you should try. But, if you look at SASHELP.CLASS, you will see that there are 19 students with ages from 11-16. I can use PROC FREQ to show those students in grouped in my categories, where ages 11-12 are categorized as 'children', ages 13-15 are categorized as 'non-drivers' and ages 16-and up are categorized as 'teenage drivers'. PROC FORMAT allows me to create the categories and then I just use a simple PROC FREQ to get the frequency counts and percents, as shown in the attached screen shot.

cynthia

proc format;

value status 11-12='children'

13-15='non-driver'

16-high='teenage drivers';

run;

ods html file='c:\temp\status.html';

title 'Use FORMAT for Categories';

proc freq data=sashelp.class;

tables age ;

format age status.;

run;

ods html close;

use_format.png
Reeza
Super User