BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
grande44
Calcite | Level 5

Hi all, SAS noob here. Any help or tips are greatly appreciated. I have a large dataset that contains information about hundreds of thousands of employees. I did the following to get the percentage of the employees' sexes:

PROC FREQ data=CPAGroups;

tables Sex/ nocum;

RUN;

This is the result:

procfreq.PNG

These are my questions:

1. The 'Sex' variable is coded as '1' for male and '2' for female. How can I change these values within the  PROC FREQ step so that it displays the results with the labels 'Male' and 'Female' instead of 1 and 2?

2. How can I delete the 'Frequency' column? I am only interested in the 'Percent' of males/females.

3. Is it possible to insert a statement either in the log or in the Results Viewer that says "Women account for __% of employees.", where the calculated value of Percent for females is inserted into the "__%"?

Thank you so much for your help!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Kurt_Bremser
Super User

The FORMAT statement assigns a format to a variable, so you need both in the statement:

format sex sexfmt.;

And you're right, the nofreq only works in crosstabulation tables. OTOH, the main purpose of PROC FREQ is the creation of counts, so no big surprise there.

If you want a heavily customized output, you're better off by creating an intermediate dataset and do the report from that. Like I did with PUTting the sentences into the log.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
Kurt_Bremser
Super User

1. For the formatting, there's at least two ways:

- you can replace the sex variable with another (type character) that holds the formatted values

- you can create a format that renders 'male' for 1 and 'female' for 2 and assing that to the sex variable

2. use the "nofreq" option in the tables statement