BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
SAS_dj1999
Calcite | Level 5

I found the following code to calculate the average (below).  I'm a beginner and would like to know if this code is optimal for datasources with over 4 million records?  The goal is to have the capability to write a data set that calculates the averages.  Again, this is my first time so I might be in the wrong forum.  Sorry.

data have;

input id month packs @@;

datalines

1 1 10 1 2 20 1 8 99 1 5 30 1 1 30

2 1 100 2 3 200 2 7 999 2 3 300 2 8 888

3 10 999 3 11 999

;

run;
quit;

data must;

total = 0;

n = 0;

do until(last.id)

set have;

by id

total + month;

n+ month;

end;

if n then average = total / n;

do until (last.id)

set have;

by id;

output;

end;

run;

13 REPLIES 13
Haikuo
Onyx | Level 15

Is there a particular reason that you choose not to use Proc summary or Proc SQL?

Haikuo

Tal
Pyrite | Level 9 Tal
Pyrite | Level 9

aren't total and n holding the same value throughout the entire program?

wouldn't he be better off using proc means mean?

SAS_dj1999
Calcite | Level 5

Hai.kuo,

I'd like to have the flexibility view various variables like:

Employee          Department      Salary     Type                        Number of Employees      Employee Average Salary      Last year's Average Salary   Difference/Ratio change

John Doe           Finance           25000      Mid Manager            20                                  20000                                    17000

Plus, using a data set procedure allows me to double check my work against a SQL procedure.

Thanks,

Vincent

Reeza
Super User

Depends on if your data is sorted and you need it re-merged.

If the data is not sorted and you don't need it remerged then this is not the most efficient way.

art297
Opal | Level 21

As a beginner, an important lesson to learn is NOT to omit the necessary semi-colons.  Your code wouldn't even run as posted.