BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
buhl2752
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello,

I am new to proc iml and am trying to simulate multivariate data to run through statistical models and compute power.  Below is very simplified code similar to what I am do - the middle of the program where here I am simulating one variable from a normal distribution would be more complicated and would be simulating multivariate data with a specified correlation.  The part I cannot figure out is how to incorporate the do loops into iml and get out the same type of output I would get from the code below (i.e, columns for run, n, trt, plot, and y) so that I can run my statistical model by run and n and compute power.  Any help would be greatly appreciated. 

Also, I am able to simulate multivariate normal data without iml.  I found code to simulate multivariate binomial both with iml and without.  For a multivariate beta distribution I found iml code using copulas.  However, I also need to simulate multivariate count data (both Poisson and negative binomial) but I have not found any code for this and was not sure if copulas could be used to these two distributions.  If anyone knows of some sample code for multivariate Poisson or negative binomial, that would be very helpful.  I am running SAS 9.4 and SAS/IML 15.2.

Thank you.  Deb

data test;
   do run=1 to 1000;
      do n=2 to 50 by 2;

do trt=1 to 4;
            do plot=1 to n;
               y=rand("Normal",0,1);
               output;

end;
         end;
      end;
   end;
run;

3 REPLIES 3
Rick_SAS
SAS Super FREQ

That's a lot of questions. Most of them are addressed in Chapters 11 and 12 of  Simulating Data with SAS

The Poisson and negative binomial models are two examples of a general linear model. See the article "Simulate many samples from a logistic regression model," which shows how to simulate a logistic model. You can get other generalized linear models by modifying the statement