BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
ManuelaVila
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi im new in sas and im trying to run an R code in Sas studio:

proc iml;

submit / r;  

x<-y+5

endsubmit;

I keep getting this error:

ERROR: SAS could not initialize the R language interface.

ERROR: The R_HOME environment variable was not found.

i already have rlang activated.

Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Rick_SAS
SAS Super FREQ

Thanks for confirming that the RLANG system option is set. Because the SAS server is running on Linux, the next thing to do is for the admin to define the  R_HOME environment variable to point to the path of your R installation directory. This is explained in the doc "Installing R on Linux Operating Systems."

There are additional admin tips in Gilsen (2019), which was presented at the 2019 SAS Global Forum.

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
Rick_SAS
SAS Super FREQ

Can you say more about how you are running SAS?

1. Are you running SAS University Edition? 

2. If the answer to #1 is "no," are you connected to a local SAS server on your PC or to a remote SAS server on linux?

ManuelaVila
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi Rick, thanks for answering:

1-im running Sas 3.8 ( its not university) 

2-im connected to a remote SAS server on linux

Rick_SAS
SAS Super FREQ

OK, then I think this an issue you need to address with your SAS network administrator. I doubt you have the authority/permission to configure the SAS server. The admin needs to start the SAS server with the -RLANG option. Here is a section of the documentation that you can send to your administrator.

ManuelaVila
Fluorite | Level 6

Rick, the admin has already started the sas server with the rlang but i still have the error.

maybe  its an issue of R version (3.5.2) or where its installed?

Thanks 

Rick_SAS
SAS Super FREQ

Please run the following and post the SAS log: