BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.

I'm new to PROC IML.

I'm trying to develop a scenario/example on why Least Squares is needed. As part of that I am building a simple example.

I just have a basic Matrix A (design matrix) ,2 by 2 (the columns of A are not linearly independent).

The constant b (or y) produces a no solution/inconsistent system. Therefore, we have to find the projection of b onto C(A) and then I use the projection instead of the b(y). So I want to solve for Ax=p.

So, couple questions.

1. First, is it possible to calculate a projection of b on to C(A) or /and an orthogonal complement vector b on the C(A)?

2. What code would let us do a simple ordinary least squares solution?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Rick_SAS
SAS Super FREQ

If you want to reproduce Chad's example, here it is:

proc iml;
A = {4  8,
     6 12};
b = {5, 1};

/* find p as orthogonal projection onto first column of A */
A1 = A[,1];
p = (A1`*b)/norm(A1)**2 * A1;
print p;

/* use a generalized inverse to find ANY x such that 
   A*x = p */
x = ginv(A)*p;
print x;

/* Check that A*x = p */
z = A*x;
print z p;

View solution in original post

20 REPLIES 20
Rick_SAS
SAS Super FREQ

Sure. Can you let us know what course you are taking and what methods you have recently studied so we can craft an appropriate answer? For example, in a linear algebra course, operations are generally row operations that reduce a matrix to row echelon form. In a statistics course, you might use X` as the projection matrix.  Look back over your notes and tell us what techniques you know about.