BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
VPartridge
Calcite | Level 5

Hello,

I inherited a large set of SAS programs and macros that I need to use to calculate a number of indices on environmental data.  I think the programs and macros were developed under SAS v7.  I currently have v9.4, with IML v14.3, operating under Windows 64-bit.  My SAS programming ability is limited and rusty, and I've had no prior experience with IML.  The code I inherited calls macros within macros within macros to do such things as variable name manipulation.

The point at which I'm stuck right now is a macro which invokes IML, using other macros to generate the dataset and variable names.

I apologize in advance for the long post -- it shows the errors I get with multiple different attempts at modifying the code.  Help will be appreciated!  Thank you.

The original code (which does not work) in the calling macro was:

PROC IML;
 RESET NONAME;
 ERRFLAG=0;
 USE &dsn VAR%imlvar(&var);
 READ ALL INTO X;

where the dsn name was provided by an earlier call to a different macro and imlvar is another macro, which takes the var variable (provided by an earlier call to yet another macro) and creates a list of indexed variables from other variables, as follows:

%let vari=("%substr(&var,1,%eval(&i-1))":"%substr(&var,%eval(&i+1),%eval(%length(&var)-&i))");

The value of vari returned is ("s1":"s814").  (Yes, there are 814 numeric fields in this dataset, in addition to numerous other fields.)

The log shows:

MPRINT(TSALL):   USE ridsn_
NOTE: Line generated by the invoked macro "IMLVAR".
1    *
     -
ERROR 79-322: Expecting a {.

MPRINT(IMLVAR):   VAR* * ( "s1":
MPRINT(TSALL):  "s814");
NOTE: Line generated by the macro variable "VARI".
1      ("s1":"s814")
            -
ERROR 22-322: Syntax error, expecting one of the following: a name, a quoted string, a numeric constant,