BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Esta_Stoop
Calcite | Level 5

I am a mathematical statistics masters student at the University of Pretoria, South-Africa.

The SWEEP function in SAS IML works very well to calculate the G1 generalized inverse of a large matrix. I need to calculate the G1 generalized inverse (only satisfying the condition AGA = A, not the Moore-Penrose inverse) of a large matrix using the SWEEP operator. I want to program the sweep operator.

The matrices I need to calculate the G1 generalized inverse of is very large, dimension approximately 3000 x 3000.

I have tried to program the sweep operator to calculate the G1 generalized inverse using the following article as a reference
"A Tutorial on the SWEEP Operator" Author: James H. Goodnight.

My program is not generating the correct G1 generalized inverse.

I also want to make the program efficient.

Can you please guide me and give me advice on how to program the sweep operator?

Is it wise to use a loop in the program?

ginv(A) = SWEEP(A,1:nrow(A))
The sweep operator applied to all the rows/columns of the matrix = G1 generalized inverse
Is there some trick that can help me make my program more efficient? Since I am working with very large matrices.

proc iml;
/*SWEEP operator to calculate G1 - first attempt*/
start sweep_ginv(A);
	n = nrow(A);
	do k = 1 to n;
		B = J(n,n,0);
		print A;
		p = A[k,k];
		B[setdif(1:n,k),k] = -A[setdif(1:n,k),k]/p;
		B[k,setdif(1:n,k)] = A[k,setdif(1:n,k)]/p;
		B[setdif(1:n,k),setdif(1:n,k)] = A[setdif(1:n,k),setdif(1:n,k)]-(1/p)*A[setdif(1:n,k),k]*A[k,setdif(1:n,k)];
		B[k,k] = 1/p;
		print B;
		A = B;
		print A;
	end;
	return(B);
finish sweep_ginv;

***********************************************************************;
/*Second attempt*/
start sweep_ginv2(F);
	n = nrow(F);
	range = 1:n;
	do k = 1 to n;
		B = J(n,n,0);
		p = F[k,k];
		B[loc(range ^= k),k] = -F[loc(range ^= k),k]/p;
		B[k,loc(range ^= k)] = F[k,loc(range ^= k)]/p;