BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
abbaskashif
Calcite | Level 5

Hi,

Below is an example of a code that works fine and matrix of x is correct. The problem occurs with y as I am getting a matrix of 1s only. Is it because Quantile function is not supported by IML? I am new to SAS IML. Please help.

/* Inverse CDF of Binomial PD*/
%let N = 100;
%let M= 3;
proc iml;
call randseed(123);
x = j(&N,&M);
y = j(&N,&M);
mu= j(1,&M);
stdev= j(1,&M);
mu= {.2 .1 .5};
stdev= mu#(1-mu);
call randgen(x, "Normal",mu, stdev);
y= Quantile("NORMAL",x);
print mu;
print x;
print y;
run;

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Rick_SAS
SAS Super FREQ

Vectors of paremeters for the RANDGEN subroutine were introduced in SAS/IML 12.1 (SAS 9.3m2).

Sorry for the confusion about row vectors and column vectors. You are right (the doc is right) about the way that dimensions are used. In my own work, I  make the parameter vector be a row vector (1 row, m columns) when I want the parameters to apply to the columns.  I make the parameter vector be a column vector (n rows, 1 column)  when I want the parameters to apply to the rows. As y ou point out, this convention is not strictly required, but I think it is a good idea.  

Here are examples. In the first example I compute the mean of each column of x and show that the column means are close to the population mean.  In the second example, I compute the sample mean for each row of y and show that the row means are close to the population means.

proc iml;
call randseed(1);

x = j(100, 3);  /* 3 cols */
mu  = 1:3;   /* row vector: ncol(mu)=ncol(x) */
call randgen(x, "normal", mu);
mean = mean(x); /* mean of each col */
print mu, mean;

y = j(5, 200);  /* 5 rows */
mu2  = T(1:5);   /* col vector: nrow(mu)=nrow(y ) */
call randgen(y, "normal", mu2);
mean2 = y[,:];  /* mean of each row */
print mu2 mean2;

View solution in original post