BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
sasalex2024
New User | Level 1

Dear All,

I am very new to SAS and am using SAS on Demand for Academics. I have a question regarding an example in the SAS manual. There is an example of a regression with input series with ARMA models for the errors, where the error follows an ARMA(1,1) process:

proc arima data=a;

identify var=sales crosscorr=(price income);

estimate p=1 q=1 input=(price income);

run;

But what if I have monthly data and need to run the same model as above, except that this time error is a multiplicative seasonal ARIMA model of the form: 

ARIMA(0,1,1)(2,1,0)12 , i.e., here "12" is a subscript (sorry, could not type it in a proper math form!)

From what I understand I need to change “identify” part as follows:

identify var=sales(1,12) crosscorr=(price(1,12) income(1,12));

But even if that was correct, I am not sure how to change the estimate part. Thank you very much.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
sasalex2024
New User | Level 1

Thank you very much, Koen, for the code, which I’ve slightly modified as below. If my understanding is correct, any differencing applied to the disturbance leads to same differencing of each variable in the regression. Thus, price and income inputs should be differenced in the same manner as the sales. Hence, I believe the code should be as follows, if you could kindly confirm whether it is correct or not:

proc arima data=a;
estimate p=(12 24) q=1 input=(price income) method=ml;
run;

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
sbxkoenk
SAS Super FREQ

To be able to write the ESTIMATE statement correctly, you need to know about the transfer function(s) you want to specify for your input(s). The transfer function specification for an input variable is optional. But ... if no transfer function is specified, then the input variable enters the model as a simple regressor.