BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
datalligence
Fluorite | Level 6
Hi,

I have more than 100 stores; and there is a lot of store level and area demographics/economic information. I need to forecast sales for each store for the next 1 year. And I just have SAS 9 (so no Proc Panel).

Been reading on Proc Mixed and Proc Tscsreg. Can anyone please guide me on which technique/procedure will be more appropriate and why? Any case study I can look up?

Thanks
8 REPLIES 8
sassygrl
Calcite | Level 5
Hello, I am a forecasting novice but my first thought would be Proc Autoreg. Have you tried it? It can only account for limited types of autocorrelation; Proc ARIMA is more powerful but requires a lot of interaction (time and know-how). Proc Autoreg can incorporate any explanatory variables that you choose to include in the model, and the automatic nature might be appealing since you need so many forecasts.

I'm not seeing an application for Proc Mixed, and I'm not familiar with Proc Tscsreg.

Good luck!
udo_sas
SAS Employee
Hello -
For these kinds of "large-scale" forecasting exercises I would usually recommend looking into SAS Forecast Server, which can be used to automate these kinds of tasks quite nicely.
Otherwise, you will need to come up with forecasting models manually for each store - of course SAS provides procedures with this kind of task as well.
Usually it is good practice to start with more simplistic models like exponential smoothing models (available in either FORECAST or ESM procedure) and then turn to more advanced models like ARIMA or UCM (see respective procedures).
Thanks,
Udo
Werg
Calcite | Level 5
Hi,

I've the same situation and I used the High Performance Forecasting to solve the problem.
datalligence
Fluorite | Level 6
I don't have SAS Forecast server, so that rules out a lot of things.

Can Proc Arima and Proc Autoreg be used to model for each Store separately, at one time?