BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
hienvu
Calcite | Level 5

Hi everyone,

Sorry for this long post. I really need your Forecast Studio expertise help. I am pretty new to FS so there are many things I am not so sure.

I need to create a demand forecast model for weekdays (Mon-Fri). My dataset has the following characteristics:

- Demand is usually higher at the beginning of the month.

For example: If Feb 1 is on Wednesday, the demand on Feb 1 will be higher than demand on other Wednesdays

- Demand is usually higher at the beginning of the week. \

For example: Monday demand is higher than other weekdays

- There is no demand on Public holiday. Demand on the day right after public holiday will higher than normal

For example: Public holiday is on Mon. Demand on Tuesday right after PH will be higher than other Tuesdays

Questions:

1/ How can I set 2 seasonal cycle length (5 days weekday and 20 days monthly) for a forecast?

2/ Can I set an event to indicate certain percentage increase at the beginning of the month? The current event repository is designed in a way that I need to add specific date to event table e.g. 02Jan2014, 01Feb2014, 01Mar2014,... Plus, I can only indicate there is an increase yet I cant decide percentage or absolute increase. The increase is decided by the FS automatically.

3/ Currently I use 20 as seasonal cycle length and I have an uplift table outside FS. The table will indicate % uplift and absolute increase. Forecast result from FS will be uplifted in the db itself, not in FS. I have a problem with this design.