BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
danimian
Calcite | Level 5

Hi, I am very new to SAS and trying to read an xls file and using the following code.

libname orionxls 'sales.xls';

data work.subset2;

set orionxls.'Australia$'n;

where Job_Title contains 'Rep';

keep First_Name Last_Name Salary Job_Title Hire_Date;

label Job_Title='Sales Title' Hire_Date='Date Hired';

format Salary comma10. Hire_Date weekdate.; run; 

Code is not functioning because in excel file column name is Job Title (with blank space).

My question is how to write the column name with blank space in such type of code?

Thanks in advance

Best Regards

Dani

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
MichelleHomes
Meteorite | Level 14

I assume you are trying to run the program in SAS Enterprise Guide? If so, you will need to change the columns that have a space in it to be written as named literal variables. So instead of Job_Title, it will be "Job Title"n which treats the string as a variable. Don't forget the n as this tells the compiler to treat it as the name literal rather than a string.

The other columns: First_Name, Last_Name, Hire_Date in all the other statements will need to be updated too.

Kind Regards,

Michelle

//Contact me to learn how Metacoda software can help keep your SAS platform secure - https://www.metacoda.com

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
MichelleHomes
Meteorite | Level 14

I assume you are trying to run the program in SAS Enterprise Guide? If so, you will need to change the columns that have a space in it to be written as named literal variables. So instead of Job_Title, it will be "Job Title"n which treats the string as a variable. Don't forget the n as this tells the compiler to treat it as the name literal rather than a string.

The other columns: First_Name, Last_Name, Hire_Date in all the other statements will need to be updated too.

Kind Regards,