BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
emsmpa
Calcite | Level 5

Hi,

is it possible to use a public/private key approach (like ssh) for EG?

Thanks in advance!

7 REPLIES 7
ChrisHemedinger
Community Manager

I'm not a security expert and don't know exactly what you're after, but I'll throw some facts at the question:

• SAS Enterprise Guide supports use of encryption through SAS/SECURE.  EG doesn't use HTTP like a web client, but uses TCP directly to talk to a remote endpoint via the SAS IOM protocol.   SAS/SECURE gives you the chance to encrypt those communications using a variety of standard algorithms.
  • SAS Enterprise Guide can be used via VPN -- no SAS/SECURE needed.  If your client machine is connected to your corporate network over the Internet but via VPN, SAS Enterprise Guide can work the same as if it was "on network".  That's really not special to EG, but if you're wondering whether that works...it does.

If you need to go deeper on this, I suggest you contact SAS Technical Support.

Chris

SAS Innovate 2025: Call for Content! Submit your proposals before Sept 16. Accepted presenters get amazing perks to attend the conference!
emsmpa
Calcite | Level 5

Hi Chris,

thanks for your response.

I'm sorry, I should have been more specific.

SAS uses afaik a username and a password to verify/identify users in a hostbased approach (e.g. UNIX users).

UNIX users can have a openssl public key in e.g. .ssh/authorized_keys to login passwordless. They store a private key in a client like ssh client.

Is it possible to use these openssl keys of UNIX user accounts for a passwordless single-sign-on with SAS EG?

Thanks in advance!

ChrisHemedinger
Community Manager

You can use EG in a "single-signon" environment with UNIX systems by configuring "integrated Windows authentication" (IWA) and Kerberos.  See this doc:

http://support.sas.com/documentation/cdl/en/bisecag/63082/HTML/default/viewer.htm#n1d1zo1jsf2o0en1eh...

Also see the series of excellent posts by Paul Homes at: