BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
woo
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10 woo
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10

hi SAS folks - i am new at sas and need help with macro code

Question:-

i have created one table with 1 variable and 7 observation (this table contains error name strings as observation).  i am planning to trigger this table with macro logic in such a way that if we have same string error as mention in table oservation then error will be ignored and code would run without any failure shown...

(so basically table observation as error will be ignored in log)

I would really appreciate help with logic and code if someone can provide...

Thanks in advance...

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

Again. Write a program that works for one string.  A macro is a code generator. You have to know what code you want to generate before you can "macrotize" it.

For example if you logic included the line:

if string in : ("ERROR: File WORK.Y.DATA does not exist.") then delete;     

Then you could make a dataset that had that text in it.

data a;

errstring = "ERROR: File WORK.Y.DATA does not exist." ;

run;

Then you could pull that string out into a macro variable that your program could reference.

proc sql noprint;

select quote(trim(errstring)) into :errlist separated by ',' from a;

quit;

if string in : (&errlist) then delete;     

I doubt that your program will end up being that simple, but the idea is the same.  Figure out what code you want to generate, then you can work on generating it.

View solution in original post

27 REPLIES 27
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

Not sure what you mean.

Do you want to know how to query a table to find out if a given macro variable matches the value of one of the variables?

proc sql noprint ;

select var from my.table where var="&mvar" ;

quit;

%if (&sqlobs) %then %put Found a match ;