BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
bondtk
Quartz | Level 8

Hi

I have got this code to extract my data,  wondering if there is any macro possible so that it extracts monthly data and I don't have to

change dates all the time. Any macro possible so I can only select a month or just change month name in macro  extract monthly data,

please advise.

data application_extract;

set retail .xy_BBS_masterflow;

where d_entry >= '2016-11-01 00:00:00.000' and d_entry <  '2017-10-01 00:00:00.000' ;

run;

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Kurt_Bremser
Super User

@bondtk wrote:
Hi

Thanks for your reply, please advise if I want to run it for 3 months or 6 months extract , how do I change it, please advise , I am not good with macros...

Thanks
Tk

Supply a startmonth and endmonth as macro parameters, and then compare datepart() of your timestamps with both

where mdy(&startmonth,1,&startyear) <= datepart(d_entry) <= intnx('month',mdy(&endmonth,1,&endyear),0,'e');

View solution in original post

19 REPLIES 19
Kurt_Bremser
Super User

Just an example:

data have;
input d_entry e8601dt24.3;
format d_entry e8601dt24.3;
cards;
2016-11-01 00:00:00.000
2016-11-02 00:00:00.000
2016-12-02 00:00:00.000
;
run;

%macro select(year,month);
data want;
set have;
where month(datepart(d_entry)) = &month and year(datepart(d_entry)) = &year;
run;
%mend;

%select(2016,11)
bondtk
Quartz | Level 8
Hi

Thanks for your reply, please advise if I want to run it for 3 months or 6 months extract , how do I change it, please advise , I am not good with macros...

Thanks
Tk
Kurt_Bremser
Super User

@bondtk wrote:
Hi

Thanks
Tk

Supply a startmonth and endmonth as macro parameters, and then compare datepart() of your timestamps with both

where mdy(&startmonth,1,&startyear) <= datepart(d_entry) <= intnx('month',mdy(&endmonth,1,&endyear),0,'e');

Astounding
PROC Star