BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
newtolinux
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi, I am a SAS admin, and one of our end user requests is to create a progam folder for each user.

For backup and recovery purposes, they do not want to use the home folder to store their programs.

I cannot figure out how to create a link in EG to that server program folder. Any suggestions?

Note: this folder would only contain SAS code. We are using Enterprise Guide 7.1 on Windows 7 and connecting to a Linux Server running SAS 9.4M3.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
10 REPLIES 10
TomKari
Onyx | Level 15

I haven't done this myself, but I don't see any problems.

When you say "SAS programs", I assume this means that you want to store your SAS code nodes externally to the EG project.

To do this, select "File | Save Program As...". In the tabs on the left, you can select "Servers", and from there navigate to any folder location you want. Make sure to have your Linux admin apply restrictions so that only the user can access the folder assigned to them.

Tom

CaseySmith
SAS Employee

Hi, you can control the root folder that users see in their server->Files location with the following setting in SMC:
(in SMC's Server manager plug-in, expand "SASApp" (or whatever your server is named), then "SASApp - Logical Workapce Server", right-click "SASApp - Workspace Server", select Properties, click Options tab, click "Advanced Options..." button, click "File Navigation" tab.)

fileNavigation.png

If you want the servers->Files location to point to different folders per user, but don't want to use their home directory ("SAS User Root"), you can specify a path with an environment variable substitution.  For example, select "Path" and specify "c:\%username%".

Casey

Register today and join us virtually on June 16!
sasglobalforum.com | #SASGF

View now: on-demand content for SAS users

newtolinux