BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
gzr2mz39
Quartz | Level 8

I'm using SAS Enterprise Guide 5.1 (32-bit)

When I try to run these two lines of code in VBScript:

Set Application = WScript.CreateObject("SASEGObjectModel.Application.5.1")
WScript.Echo Application.Name & ", Version: " & Application.Version

I receive the error below. Is there another line of code that I need to add or do I need to specify the path of EG 5.1?

Error: could not locate automation class named "SASEGObjectModel.Application.5.1".
Code: 80020009
Source: WScript.Createobject

Thank you.

10 REPLIES 10
TomKari
Onyx | Level 15

I'm not an expert on VBScript, but when you use the File | Schedule project menu option in EG, it creates a VBScript file to run the project. When I did that on my PC, the equivalent line to what is giving you a problem is

Set app = CreateObject("SASEGObjectModel.Application.5.1")

Could your having WScript in front of CreateObject be causing the problem?

Tom

ChrisHemedinger
Community Manager

If you have 32-bit EG but a 64-bit Windows, make sure you're running the correct CSCRIPT.exe.  See the notes at:

Using SAS Enterprise Guide to run programs in batch - The SAS Dummy

Chris

It's time to register for SAS Innovate! Join your SAS user peers in Las Vegas on April 16-19 2024.
gzr2mz39
Quartz | Level 8

Chris,

Thank you for the link. Lots of good info.

With other vbscripts I am able to run them by double-clicking on the vbs file.

Is this possible with the code in the link you sent or do you have to use command line to run the vbscript code?

Thank you.

ChrisHemedinger
Community Manager

The default action for a VBS file on your 64-bit machine is probably to run the 64-bit version of WSCRIPT.  That won't work if you are trying to automate 32-bit EG, because the required entries are not present in the 64-bit region of the Windows registry.