BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Max-A
Obsidian | Level 7

Hello Everyone,

I've been doing some research to find a way to create a automatic test procedure to check if there are double values in a dataset. I think it must be possible to show a prompt on startup to select the dataset that has to be checked. Correct me if i am wrong.

The problems i encouter are the following:

- I cannot find a way to specify a specific dataset with a prompt. Only a file or directory. But the file is not on the etl server, and so i cannot use it.

- I want to create a testprogram in which a lot of values can be changed. For example:

What variable must be unique? (test 1)

What variable cannot be empty? (test 2)

I am quite new to the sas software, so i hope someone can help me.

Looking forward to the reactions!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Kurt_Bremser
Super User

You need to populate a dataset, which is already registered in metadata, with the variable names from dictionary.columns (or sashelp.vcolumn). You can build a dynamic prompt from that.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
Kurt_Bremser
Super User

You can define a user prompt as selection from a dynamic list, where the values are taken from a dataset.

• create an empty table that will hold the dataset names
  • register it in metadata
  • use it as source for the prompt

For the finding of double values, proc freq could be very helpful.

Max-A
Obsidian | Level 7

Thanks for your reply!

The problem that i am dealing with is that there are probably over thousand datasets, and every dataset has its own user permissions.

I was hoping that it was possible to search for the specific location of the dataset that i want to check.

The selected dataset would than be the first step of the process flow. After that it must be the source of the list data/query builder or one of the other data tasks.