BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
deleted_user
Not applicable
Hi-

I'm relatively new to EG and have been quite frustrated that a particular and necessary reporting task is seemingly not possible in EG.

I'm trying to create a summary table and also include computed columns based on the summary statistics. For example, say I have the following dataset on calls made asking for donations. For each call, I record the donation made:

person_id donation
1 $1.00
1 $3.00
1 $4.00
2 $8.00
2 $6.00
2 $1.00
2 $2.00
2 $2.00
3 $1.00
3 $3.00
3 $4.00
3 $8.00
4 $6.00
4 $1.00
5 $2.00
6 $2.00
6 $1.00
6 $3.00

I want to calculate, by person_id, the average donation amount per call. This table would look like this:

user total_donations total_calls total_donations/total_calls
1 $7.00 3 $2.33
2 $19.00 5 $3.80
3 $16.00 4 $4.00
4 $7.00 2 $3.50
5 $2.00 1 $2.00
6 $6.00 3 $2.00

The last column is what is really bothering me. In EG I can create a summary table with number of calls (rows) and the sum of the donations for each user. What I cannot get it to do is to calculate the average donation/call, in the final column.

This is easy enough to do in SQL and seems to be a need for every report that I want to create. Many analytic professionals using EG must have to create a computed column in a summary report...how do you do it?

Can EG not do this? If not, how? Do I really have to edit the code directly for something as simple as this? I'd be very surprised if this was not a product feature of EG.

Thanks! I really appreciate any responses as I'm just getting started with SAS and hope to contribute to this forum at some point.

Cheers
-Scott
3 REPLIES 3
ChrisNZ
Tourmaline | Level 20
Quote: ... a particular and necessary reporting task is seemingly not possible

This will always be a downside to menu-driven development environments: at one point, coding is the only way to access all features when you want total flexibility.