BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
DA_SAS
Fluorite | Level 6

We are in the very beginning stages of moving a production batch system running on a legacy VMS system using SAS and COBOL to SAS Enterprise guide with the SAS server on Linux. Most everyone else is using EG striclty for add hoc queries and reports.

I am mostly self-taught and despite being comfortable with Base SAS programming I think I am missing on some basic concepts when moving to EG . One example is that I am struggling to understand how to implement a code/macro library that can be used by other members of our programming team. When I save a program externally from EG I only have the option to save it to my folder under the Server list and not to any of the SAS folders. I can use Autocall or %include for use in my own programs but can’t figure out how/where to save it so that others can use it.  

Can someonw off guidance or point me to specific resources that will help me better understand? Any help is appreciated.

7 REPLIES 7
ChrisHemedinger
Community Manager

For starters, your SAS admin will need to configure the workspace properties to allow file navigation outside of your own SASUSER path.  See this blog post for the basic instructions.

Then you'll have access to the full folder tree, and you can organize your code as needed.

Chris

It's time to register for SAS Innovate! Join your SAS user peers in Las Vegas on April 16-19 2024.
DA_SAS
Fluorite | Level 6

Thanks Chris! I will start there.

TomKari
Onyx | Level 15

A couple of other things to think about:

1. In EG, you can either save your SAS code (that you edit in a program window) within the EG project, or externally as a .sas file. EG tasks are always saved within the project. Both options have pros and cons; make sure you understand fully which is which, and that you can ensure your other users make the right choices. For any code that you are going to want to include, it will need to be saved externally.