BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
JenniferLB08
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi everyone,

I'm very new to SAS and Enterprise Guide--this is my second week using it. I'm using SAS on a VM and once I use the Import Wizard to open a csv file, I copy the code the wizard generates and proceed with figuring out basic data cleaning tasks. The next day when I open the program, I get an error that the physical file does not exist. It existed yesterday and everything worked fine. 

I'm coming from an SPSS background and I'm just looking to write a syntax/program that I can run over and over at different points in the future.

Does anyone know what is causing this error? Do I need to use the Import Wizard every time I need to open a file? Can nothing be repeatable?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Reeza
Super User

It depends. One way is to import the data once and then store it in a permanent library rather than read it in each time. 

I usually add the import at the code, then once it's read in properly I comment it out and then use the data from a permanent library.

libname projPP '/folders/myfolders/ProjPP/';

*proc import out=ProjPP.RawData datafile='/folders/myfolders/ProjPP/demo.csv dbms=csv replace; 
*run;

data RawData;
set projPP.rawdata;
run;

The issue you may be facing, is the file is local but your EG is actually running off a server, so if you try and run the program it no longer has access to the file. The mechanism of importing a local file when you're working with EG on a servers is very different and takes some research to understand. 

Basically EG is a thin client that connects to the server. You can also use local data but you can't stream line the use of local data 😞

If you're using local data the best bet is to load the file to the server and then you can automate the full process.