hi all

i am new to sas

we have our sas servers on Linux.

is it possible for me using sas enterprise guide to use DDE funtionality

6 REPLIES 6
RW9
Diamond | Level 26 RW9
Diamond | Level 26

Firstly, DDE requires Excel to be installed on the machine, as Excel is not on Linux then no.

Secondly, DDE is decades old and in some setups doesn't work at all - like yours where your on a different OS.

Now, depends what you use the output for.  If it is for data transfer, use an open source text based format - CSV, XML, which can be opened by various applications, and is cross platform and robust.  If it is for review purposes, then you have several options, and you can still create Excel files:

https://communities.sas.com/t5/Base-SAS-Programming/Read-an-Excel-File-in-Linux/td-p/80822

amar8580
Calcite | Level 5

thanks for the reply

basically i have a xlsm file that has macro in it

i want to use sas to run that macro

convert that xlsm file in both xlsx and pdf 

and then email it out to users

Kurt_Bremser
Super User

A Excel macro needs Excel to be run. Excel is not available on your SAS server, so forget about it.

Export the raw data from Excel into a sensible data format, read that into SAS, and implement the logic from the Excel macro there. That also solves the problem that Excel macros do not adhere to reporting/documentation standards as required by (international) laws and regulations.

ChrisHemedinger
Community Manager

You won't be able to use SAS on Linux to drive this.  If you're using SAS Enterprise Guide, you might be able to drive some of this in a process flow.  You can transfer files to/from Linux with the Copy Files task (in Tools->Data in EG 7.13, available as a custom task in earlier versions).  You can run Windows commands (including scripts to automate Excel) by using the System Command task (a custom task).

More on the DDE predicament here.

It's time to register for SAS Innovate! Join your SAS user peers in Las Vegas on April 16-19 2024.
RW9