BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
lai302120
Calcite | Level 5

Hi,

i'm a new user to SAS EG but i've been using SAS Foundation for a few years now.

My issue:

I open and run sections of sas code in EG, but i find that whenever i run a section of code and get stopped due to errors, the results (i.e. macro variables created, libraries, temp datasets) from the previous sections of code i ran are all lost after and I need to rerun everything again.

am i using EG 'wrong'? i've never experienced something like this when i use SAS Foundation. 

thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
SASKiwi
PROC Star

Submit in EG: proc options; run; and check in the log to see if the ERRORABEND SAS option is set. This may well explain the behaviour you are seeing - your session dropping if there is a SAS error. This option is not usually used for interactive SAS but it may be a default setting you are picking up from your SAS server.

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2
SASKiwi
PROC Star

Submit in EG: proc options; run; and check in the log to see if the ERRORABEND SAS option is set. This may well explain the behaviour you are seeing - your session dropping if there is a SAS error. This option is not usually used for interactive SAS but it may be a default setting you are picking up from your SAS server.

ChrisHemedinger
Community Manager

SAS Enterprise Guide works differently than SAS Foundation (Base SAS windowing environment).  When you run a program/task, the log/output/results of that task are replaced in your process flow, not accumulated.  Data sets and other files are not actually deleted (unless the code you run directs that to happen), but EG brings you back just the results of your latest "run".  If you have an error in the program, then you might not see any results.